Tip
Common columns
Certain columns can be found on almost every page in your Google Ads account.
Recommended columnsThe 'Status' column on the 'Campaigns' and 'Ad groups' page shows information about the current state of individual campaigns or ad groups, and whether they're paused, removed, limited by budget or other states.
- On the 'Assets' page, the 'Status' column shows you whether or not your ad is running and, if not, whether it is paused, removed or disapproved.
- On the 'Keywords' page, it shows you whether each keyword is eligible to trigger ads, or whether the campaign or ad that it falls under is marked as paused, removed, disapproved or another status.
Get more information about campaign, ad group, ad and keyword statuses.
When you’re viewing your statistics table, you may see the following Performance columns by default:
- Clicks: When someone clicks your ad, like on the blue headline of a text ad, we count that as a click.
- Impressions: An impression is counted each time that your ad is shown on a search results page or other site on the Google Network. 'Impressions' is abbreviated as 'Impr.'
- CTR: A ratio showing how often people who view your ad end up clicking it. CTR can be used to gauge how well your keywords and ads are performing.
- Avg. CPC: The amount paid for your ads divided by your total clicks.
- Avg. CPM: The average amount that you've been charged per 1,000 views of your ad (if you're using CPM bidding).
- Cost: Cost is the total spend for all interactions, such as clicks for text ads and views for video ads.
- Results column: It shows the number of conversions you've received across your primary conversion actions for each of the standard goals in your account.
- This column will display in normal font colour the conversions in goals that the campaign is optimising for. In greyed-out font, this column will display the conversions in goals that the campaign isn’t optimising for but generating conversions. Learn more About conversion goals.
- The Results column won’t show conversions grouped by a custom goal. However, if some of these conversions also exist as primary conversion actions in standard goals in your account, you’ll see the conversions from those standard goals in the Results column (note that this isn’t the case for secondary actions, which never appear in the Results column). Learn more About conversion goals.
- Results value column: It shows the calculated conversion values that you've received across your primary conversion actions for each of the standard goals in your account.
- Conversion goals column: It shows the goals listed in your campaign level setting that drive your campaign's performance.
- You can override your account-default goals and specify which goals you’d like to track in your conversion reporting and use for bidding in a particular campaign.
- Your account-default goals should be applicable to most of your campaigns, but there may be some situations when you want to have more granular control over which conversion goals are used for bidding and reporting in a campaign. Learn more About campaign-specific conversion goals.
The Results Reporting columns will only appear at the campaign level.
You’ll also see the option to add columns for the standard goals that you have defined in your account as individual columns (e.g. phone calls, submit lead forms). These columns will show the number of conversions that you’ve received across your primary conversion actions for each of those standard goals.
Learn more About Results Reporting.
- Number of Disapproved Ads
- These ads won’t show because they violate Google Ads policies. You can check the 'Status' column to see why an ad was disapproved. Learn more about Google Ads policies.
- If you fix the ad, it will be reviewed again and can become eligible if we determine that the ad complies with our policies. Learn how to Fix a disapproved ad.
- These can be added to both Campaigns and Ad groups tables.
- Number of disapproved keywords
- These keywords won’t show your ads because they violate Google Ads policies. Learn more about Google Ads policies.
- You can check the 'Status' column to see why an ad was disapproved. If you fix the ad, it will be reviewed again and can become eligible if we determine that the ad complies with our policies. Learn how to Fix a disapproved ad.
- These can be added to both Campaigns and Ad groups tables.
- Number of eligible Ads
- These ads have been reviewed and approved to run. They comply with Google Ads policies, so they can be shown to all audiences. Learn more About the ad review process.
- These can be added to both Campaigns and Ad groups tables.
- Number of eligible keywords
- These keywords have been reviewed and approved to show all your ads. Learn more About the ad review process.
- These can be added to both Campaigns and Ad groups tables.
- Number of Eligible Responsive Search Ads
- These ads have been reviewed and approved to run. They comply with Google Ads policies, so they can be shown to all audiences. Learn more About the ad review process.
- These can be added to both Campaigns and Ad groups tables.
- Number of eligible Ad groups
- These ad groups are ready to run. Learn how to Manage ad groups for existing campaigns.
- These can be added to the Campaigns table only.
- Responsive Search Ad-Strength Details
- This column shows a breakdown for the ad strength rating of your responsive search ads. Learn more About ad strength.
- They outline the count of RSAs segmented by Ad strength.
- These can be added to both Campaigns and Ad groups tables.
- Number of eligible sitelink asset
- This column shows the number of sitelink assets.
- These can be added to both Campaigns and Ad groups tables.
- Number of eligible sitelink asset (upgraded)
- This column shows the number of upgraded sitelink assets.
- These can be added to both Campaigns and Ad groups tables.
- Number of eligible image asset
- This column shows the number of image assets.
- These can be added to both Campaigns and Ad groups tables.
Learn how to Create effective Search ads.
- Bid strategy type: The name of the bid strategy that’s managing bids for your keywords, ad groups or campaigns. For example, if your campaign is using manual CPC bidding, then you'll see 'CPC' in this column. Or, if your campaign is using automatic bidding, then you'll see 'Auto' in this column. You might also see '(enhanced)', which means that Google Ads is adjusting your max. CPC bid to achieve your goal, like maximising conversions.
- Bid strategy: This is the automated portfolio bid strategy that's managing bids for your keywords, ad groups or campaigns. Note that in this column, you'll see the name that you created for the flexible bid strategy. If you aren't using a flexible bid strategy, you'll see a dash "-".
- Account Optimisation Headroom:
- This is the percentage of improvement that can be made towards a 100% account optimisation score. Learn more about optimisation in manager accounts.
- These can be added to the Campaigns table only.
Columns that appear only on certain pages
Some columns can only be found on certain Google Ads account pages. Here's what they can tell you about your performance:
Active bid adj.Your active bid adjustment is the type of bid adjustment that you've set. If you've set a mobile bid adjustment, for example, then you'll see "Device". You can increase or decrease your bids to bid more or less competitively across devices, locations, the time of day and more. Bid adjustments give you more control over when and where your ad is shown.
This is the individual ID number of your ad.
This column indicates the type of ad that you're running: text, image, mobile or video.
These columns estimate how various bid changes might affect your weekly Search Network traffic. Estimates are generally refreshed once a day, and reflect the last seven days of activity in your account from the day on which they're calculated (up to seven days ago). Bid simulator columns are available at the keyword level, and at the campaign level for device bid adjustments. See the sections below for information on each.
A '--' in the column means that there hasn’t been enough data to produce an estimate over the last seven days.
Note that the bid simulator columns provide estimates showing how alternative bids might have affected your ad performance in the past. They aren't meant to serve as predictions or guarantees of future ad performance. These columns won’t produce estimates for campaigns that use automatic CPC bidding or Target CPA, or for campaigns that spend their entire daily budget on a regular basis.
Keyword bid simulator columns
The columns for bid simulators with Search Network and Display Network campaigns are available on the 'Keywords' page.
The 'Base max. CPC' column lists the bids that Google Ads used to create click and cost estimates for the other bid simulator columns. Please refer to it instead of the 'Max. CPC bid' column when evaluating bid simulator results. Your current Max. CPC bid may have changed since Google Ads made the estimates.
Campaign-level device bid adjustment columns
You can also see bid simulator columns for device bid adjustments at the campaign level. You can find these columns in the Devices tab in the Settings tab.
The “Base bid adj.” column lists the bid adjustment that Google Ads used to create the estimates for the other bid simulator columns. Refer to this column when evaluating the bid simulator results. Your current bid adjustment may have changed since Google Ads made the estimates.
The estimates in these bid simulator columns assume that all ad group-level bid adjustments have been removed.
Learn how to Estimate your results with bid, budget and target simulators.
'Click share' is the clicks that you've received on the Search Network divided by the estimated maximum number of clicks that you could have received.
The maximum number of clicks that you can receive depends on the prominence of your ads and the number of ads that you show for a search query. These two factors are influenced by several other factors, including your bid and the overall quality and relevance of your ads.
This column is available on the 'Product groups' page. Learn more About click share.
This column shows the total costs that a campaign has accrued during the time frame that you selected.
This column is available on the 'Campaigns' page only.
Your default maximum cost per click (max. CPC) is the highest amount that you're willing to pay for a click. Your default max. CPC bid is set at the ad group level, but you can override it by setting specific max. CPCs for individual keywords. Note that you won't pay more than your max. CPC, and often you'll pay less. You can see the average amount that you pay for clicks in the 'Avg. CPC' column.
You might see an "auto" or "(enhanced)" label next to your bids. Here's what these mean:
- Auto: This means that Google Ads is automatically setting the bid that you see in this column. You might see 'Auto' if your campaign is using automatic bidding or the target ROAS portfolio bid strategy, for example. Note that these bid amounts can't be edited.
- Enhanced: This means that the Google Ads system is adjusting the bid shown on an auction-by-auction basis to achieve the goal of the bidding strategy that you're using, like maximising conversions for Enhanced CPC or maximising conversion value for target ROAS. Note that for each keyword in this ad group that's using the default bid, Google Ads tries to set bids to roughly average the bid shown.
Bear in mind that the bids for some bidding strategies, such as target ROAS, can be both automatically set and enhanced. If you're using target ROAS, then the bid shown isn't used for Display Network auctions.
The 'Default Max. CPC' column is available on the 'Ad groups' page only.
In Shopping campaigns, you use product groups to set bids on your products. You can check the bid for each product by using the 'Effective max. CPC' column on the 'Products' page. Effective max. CPC is the bid that's used in the ad auction to rank your products. It's the highest bid for an individual product in the campaign or ad group that you selected, even taking campaign priorities into account.
What it means
Your effective maximum cost per click is the most that you're willing to bid on an individual product in your ad group. If a product is excluded or if the campaign or ad groups isn't enabled, you'll see '--' instead of a max. CPC bid amount.
The value that you see doesn't include the following campaign settings:
- Bid adjustments. This means that you might bid higher based on the bid adjustments that you've set. For example, if you placed a mobile bid adjustment of 300%, your effective max. CPC of £1 could increase to £3 when bidding for mobile ads. Learn more About bid adjustments.
Example
You have a 'Shoes' campaign with the product 'Fast Trainers' in two ad groups. One ad group uses a max. CPC bid of £1.20 for 'Fast Trainers' while the other ad group uses a bid of £3.00. When you look at 'Fast Trainers' in the campaign's 'Products' page, you'll see an effective max. CPC of £3.00, since that's the most that you're willing to bid across all the ad groups that contain 'Fast Trainers'.
The 'Est. first page bid', 'Est. top of page bid' and 'Est. first position bid' metrics approximate the cost-per-click (CPC) bid needed for your ad to reach the first page, top of the page or first ad position of Google search results, respectively, when a search term exactly matches your keyword. The estimates are based on the Quality Score and current advertiser competition for that keyword.
In rare cases, the 'Est. top of page bid' and the 'Est. first position bid' may exceed £100 and be denoted as >=£100. When viewing 'Est. top of page bid' and 'Est. first position bid' in other currencies, you may see a similar annotation for the equivalent of £100 in your preferred currency.
Note that these estimates aren't a guarantee of placement. Ad position is influenced by many factors, including other advertiser activity, search user activity, account settings and account activity such as budget changes. For all of these reasons, your ad may not be shown on the first page or at the top of the page, even if you meet the estimates.
These columns are available on the 'Keywords' page only.
This column can be found on the "Keywords" page, among others. If you set a keyword-level final URL, it will take priority over the final URL that you set for each ad. Let's say that you choose the following:
- Ad final URL: example.com
- Keyword final URL: example.com/fruits
If your ad is triggered by the keyword 'apple', then the ad will use 'example.com/fruits' instead of 'example.com' as its final URL.
If you've chosen to run image ads on the Display Network, then the images will be stored on Google's servers and referenced from this URL.
Impression share is the percentage of impressions that you received divided by the estimated number of impressions that you were eligible to receive. Eligibility is based on your current ads' targeting settings, approval statuses, bids and Quality Scores. Learn how to Get impression share data.
This column is available on the 'Campaigns' and 'Ad groups' pages.
These columns indicate the number and percentage of clicks that were classified as invalid and automatically filtered from your account. You aren't charged for these clicks and they don't affect your account statistics. Learn more about Managing invalid traffic.
This column is available on the 'Campaigns' page only.
These columns indicate the number and percentage of clicks identified through routine means of filtration through application of lists or through standardised parameter checks (such as, known invalid data centre traffic, bots and spiders or other crawlers, irregular patterns, among others.). You aren't charged for these clicks and they don't affect your account statistics. Learn more about Managing invalid traffic.
These columns are only available for search and display campaigns only.
For campaigns focusing on the Google Search Network, you can use the following keyword match types: broad match, phrase match or exact match. These keyword matching options help you control who views your ads. You might notice more ad impressions, clicks and conversions with some match types, or fewer impressions and more narrow selecting with others. The 'Match type' column indicates which setting you chose for each keyword, and allows you to change the setting. This column is located on the 'Keywords' page. Learn more about Keyword matching options.
Additional match type metrics are also available in Google Ads:
Search terms match type segment: See your keyword data segmented by 'search terms match type', which are search terms that triggered your ad grouped into broad match, phrase match and exact match. This allows you to compare statistics such as the clicks, impressions, click-through rates (CTRs) or conversion rates for the search terms that triggered your ad. Use this segmentation option to identify which keywords are driving the best performance for a particular match type.
'Match type' column in the search terms report: This column in your search terms report tells you which match type allowed the user to see your ad when they searched on a particular term. Use this information to improve your keyword list.
Your maximum cost per click (max. CPC) is the highest amount that you're willing to pay for a click. You can set specific max. CPCs for individual keywords if you want to set higher or lowers bids for individual keywords based on their performance. Note that you won't pay more than your max. CPC, and often you'll pay less. You can see the average amount that you pay for clicks in the 'Avg. CPC' column.
You might see an "auto" or "(enhanced)" label next to your bids. Here's what these mean:
- Auto: This means that Google Ads is automatically setting the bid that you see in this column. You might see 'Auto' if your campaign is using automatic bidding or the target ROAS flexible bid strategy, for example. Note that these bid amounts can't be edited.
- Enhanced: This means that the Google Ads system is adjusting the bid shown on an auction-by-auction basis to achieve the goal of the bidding strategy that you're using, like maximising conversions for Enhanced CPC or maximising conversion value for target ROAS. Note that for each keyword in this ad group that's using the default bid, Google Ads tries to set bids to roughly average the bid shown.
Bear in mind that the bids for some bidding strategies, such as target ROAS, can be both automatically set and enhanced. If you're using target ROAS, then the bid shown isn't used for Display Network auctions.
The 'Max. CPC' column is only available on the 'Product groups', 'Keywords' and 'Dynamic ad targets' pages.
'Mobile-friendly click rate' is the percentage of mobile clicks that go to a page that's deemed mobile friendly by the Google mobile-friendly test. This column is available in the Landing page tab.
If a landing page hasn’t been analysed yet or we don’t have enough data, this column will show '--'.
Your mobile-friendly data may be up to 14 days old. If you've made recent updates to one of your pages, you should wait up to 14 days for those changes to be reflected in your mobile-friendly click rate.
This column lets you quickly add and remove negative keyword lists from your campaigns.
Hovering over a negative keyword list shows you the keywords within it. Clicking on a list takes you to its details page where you can make updates to it.
The 'Product status' column shows you the current status of an individual product in your campaign. This column can help you to understand whether your product is ready to serve. Learn more About product diagnostics and what the product statuses mean.
Learn more About product issues.
This column shows your keyword's Quality Score, which is a measurement of how relevant and useful your ads and landing page are to a person seeing your ad.
This column is available on the 'Keywords' page.
Relative CTR is a measure of how your ads are performing on the Display Network compared with other advertisers' ads appearing on the same websites.
We calculate Relative CTR by dividing your click-through rate by the average click-through rate of all the advertisers on the placements where your ads are shown. Because this is a competitive metric, it's not static. It will change based on the websites on which your ad appears, and what other advertisers do.
Example
Let's say that an advertiser who sells digital cameras is getting a Display Network CTR of 0.05%. The advertiser is appearing on a single page about photography on the Display Network with three other advertisers. The other advertisers are getting CTRs of 0.005%.
The first advertiser is getting a CTR that is 10 x larger than the competitors' CTR (0.05%/0.005% = 10). Because people are more interested in this advertiser's products, this advertiser has a very high Relative CTR (10).